by clicking the arrows at the side of the page, or by using the toolbar.
by clicking anywhere on the page.
by dragging the page around when zoomed in.
by clicking anywhere on the page when zoomed in.
web sites or send emails by clicking on hyperlinks.
Email this page to a friend
Search this issue
Index - jump to page or section
Archive - view past issues
Coasting : Coastal Life 17th Dec 2009
22 COASTAL LIFE Summer 2010 central coast tourism On the On the water Visitors with an interest in history and “the good old days” rate The Entrance Heritage Walk as one of the most engaging and entertaining additions to the local tourism scene in years. The heritage walk extends from The Entrance Surf Club through the Wa terfront Plaza and around to Ta ylor’s Wharf on the shores of Tu ggerah Lake. It also includes a stretch of The Entrance Road extending from The Entrance Public School to the cenotaph at Memorial Park. The walk features 75 points of interest, each with an historic photograph and interesting insight into an aspect of life at The Entrance from days gone by. Learn about the landscape, lifestyle and larrikins of yesteryear. Stroll through local history Astep A step back in time The heritage walk is not an ‘organised’ guide-led activity. Instead, families are encouraged to take the walk at their pace, and to choose their own route. Allow about two hours to complete the entire walk at a relaxed pace, or simply sample a section. The historic Norah Head Lighthouse (phone 1300 132 975) is now open for tours. Visitors who climb the 96 steps of the tower are rewarded with breathtaking 360-degree views of the region. To ur guides are well versed in the history of the structure, and the Central Coast’s maritime heritage, and their stories of shipwrecks and the lives of former lighthouse keepers are informative and entertaining. The lighthouse is now also available for weddings and accommodation. Go to www.visitcentralcoast.com.au for details. Alison Homestead and Museum (4352 1886) in Cape Road, at Wyong, was built in the 1850s and is the oldest house in the town. There are guided tours of its seven rooms which are full of historical displays including an array of old telephones and radios, and a washing machine from 1922. The house was built from local turpentine logs which were prized for being resistant to white ants. The museum is open We dnesdays, weekends and public holidays from noon to 4pm. In Gosford City, Henry Kendall Cottage (4325 2270) is the flagship of Brisbane Wa ter Historial Society’s tourism drawcards. The cottage is now a museum and was once the temporary home of poet Henry Kendall. PIONEERS: Alison Homestead and Museum at Wyong. Picture by Aaron Brown. STEP BY STEP: This framed picture on The Entrance Heritage Walk shows The Entrance Surf Club, as it was in the early days. Picture by Aaron Brown. YESTERYEAR: Wyong Historical Society volunteer Sandra Anderson inside Alison Homestead. Picture by Aaron Brown. ST FIACRE DISTILLERY Aw ard Winning Gin And Liqueurs, Vo dka Australia’s uniquely tempting liqueurs and gin handcrafted from Australian native plants. Skillion blue vodka. Gift packs of miniature bottles. Open 10.00-5.00pm. Wednesday-Sunday for distillery tours. Ta stings and sales. Chat with distiller Philip Moore. Café Open Weekends. Enjoy the best gin and tonic. Sri Lankan Curry - Sundays 12.00-2.00pm ST FIACRE DISTILLERY 25 Portsmouth Rd Erina NSW 2250, Australia Ph: 4365 3968 Mobile: 0422 23 23 62 (Formally the site of the Fragrant Garden - A Central Coast tourist icon for 30 years) c 865439 1-17Dec
Issue 6 Dec 2009
Issue 7 Jan 2010